BOLT Blog

DigIn 2018: Guide to Day Two and Day Three of the Conference

May 02, 2018
By BOLT Team

conference-2Digital innovation in insurance are moving faster than ever — and this May in Austin, Texas, the DigIn conference will spend three days focusing on the change.

DigIn offers attendees three days of networking, the chance to hear from industry leaders and the opportunity to view live demonstrations of some of the most game-changing insurtech options available today.

The conference kicks off May 14, and Day 1 promises to be packed with inspiration and information.

Here’s what the conference has in store for May 15 and 16.

 

Morning, Day 2: Briefings for Early Birds, Coffee and Keynotes

If you’re an early riser, registration opens at 7:15 a.m. for Day 2, followed by the chance to grab coffee and participate in your choice of two “Breakfast Briefing” sessions. From 7:30 to 8:15, those briefings include:

  • Leveraging People-Based Marketing to Increase Customer Lifetime Value,” sponsored by Jornaya
  • Driving Digital Innovation Across Platforms and Channels,” sponsored by Guidewire

At 8:30 a.m., futurist author Chunka Mui will deliver the Day 2 keynote address. Then, you will be able to join other insurance industry professionals for a networking breakfast in the Innovation Hall from 9:00 a.m. to 9:45 a.m.


Day 2: Speakers and Demonstrations

After breakfast, sit back and listen to insights from some key thinkers in the industry — and then enjoy some live demonstrations of exciting insurtech options.

At 9:45 a.m., speakers Kim Garland of State Auto and Tom Walker  <https://www.dig-in.com/conference/digitalinsurance-2018/speakers/tom-walker> of Rev1 Ventures will delve into the topic “What State Auto Has Learned from Its Innovation Lab.” Garland and Walker have both been involved in insurtech implementation projects and will provide insight on how to implement effectively, from addressing internal culture to finding capital partners.

At 10:05 a.m., Gaurav D. Garg  <https://www.dig-in.com/conference/digitalinsurance-2018/speakers/gaurav-d-garg> will take the floor to discuss “Putting the Personal in Personal Insurance.” Garg’s experience as CEO of personal insurance for AIG is certain to inform this highly anticipated talk.

From 10:30 to 11:00 a.m., Sophia Yen  <https://www.dig-in.com/conference/digitalinsurance-2018/speakers/sophia-yen> of Ernst & Young will discuss how companies can embrace digital change. Yen, a strategy and innovation leader for EY, will help attendees understand the latest insights regarding digital options as a driver of growth.

At 11:00 a.m., demonstrations begin. Day 2’s demo lineup features 13 vendors and products:

  • Sureify
  • EIS Group
  • Cambridge Mobile Telematics
  • Moxie
  • Geomni
  • The Floow
  • Earnix
  • Liferay, Inc.
  • Swoop
  • DXC Technology

Following the demonstrations, there will be a networking lunch in the Innovation Hall from 12:20 p.m. to 1:30 p.m., along with the chance to attend any of the three “Industry Innovation Lunch Sessions” scheduled for the same time. Day 2’s lunch sessions include:

  • “Bridging the Digital Gap in Insurance.” Thomas Harrington  <https://www.dig-in.com/conference/digitalinsurance-2018/speakers/thomas-harrington> of Pegasystems will demystify the process of transitioning to a digital world for insurers and insurance companies.
  • “How to Successfully Execute on Digital Innovation in Insurance.” Rob Hetherington of SAP will provide insight for insurers who know the what and why of making the digital leap, but are still working out the how.
  • “Machine Learning: Powering Accelerated Underwriting With Clinical Data.” What if you could harness the data in electronic medical records to generate more nuanced incidence tables? This talk, sponsored by Intersystems, will show how machine learning can be leveraged to do just that.

At 1:30 p.m., choose the breakout session track of your choice, or mix and match for a customized experience.

presentation-1

Day 2: Breakout Sessions

The first round of breakout sessions on Day 2 starts at 1:30 p.m. Options include:

  • Using AI to Help Insurance Underwriters Meet the Pace of Digital Transformation,” featuring Ashley M. Hunter  <https://www.dig-in.com/conference/digitalinsurance-2018/speakers/ashley-m-hunter> of HM Risk Group and Fredrik Osterberg  <https://www.dig-in.com/conference/digitalinsurance-2018/speakers/fredrik-osterberg> of Slottsviken AB.
  • Blockchain for Insurance: Beyond Smart Contracts,” featuring Haden Kirkpatrick  <https://www.dig-in.com/conference/digitalinsurance-2018/speakers/hayden-kirpatrick> of Esurance and Cristina Dolan of InsureX Technologies.

A breakout session on the IoT and Telematics track is also planned for 1:30 p.m., but has yet to be announced.

At 2:05 p.m., breakout session options include:

  • State of Chatbots: From Growing Pains to All Grown Up,” featuring moderator Jeff Goldberg  <https://www.dig-in.com/conference/digitalinsurance-2017/speakers/jeff-goldberg> of Novarica and panelists Miguel Fernandez  <https://www.dig-in.com/digitalinsurance-2018/speakers/miguel-fernandez> of Claimbot, Christopher Frankland  <https://www.dig-in.com/conference/digitalinsurance-2018/speakers/christopher-frankland> of Ameritas, Luke Harris  <https://www.dig-in.com/conference/digitalinsurance-2018/speakers/luke-harris> of USAA and Michael Watson  <https://www.dig-in.com/conference/digitalinsurance-2018/speakers/michael-watson> of Nationwide.
  • Detecting Insurance Fraud Using Advanced Analytics and Innovative Technology,” featuring Marta Magnuszewska  <https://www.dig-in.com/conference/digitalinsurance-2018/speakers/marta-magnuszewska> of Allstate.

The 2:40 p.m. round of breakout sessions includes:

  • Lessons Learned from Insurtech Pitches,” featuring moderator Mark Roth  <https://www.dig-in.com/conference/digitalinsurance-2018/speakers/mark-roth> of Digital Insurance and panelists Doug Alexander  <https://www.dig-in.com/conference/digitalinsurance-2018/speakers/doug-alexander> and Lauren Tennant Pollock  <https://www.dig-in.com/conference/digitalinsurance-2018/speakers/lauren-tennant-pollock> of XL Catlin, and Ryan Evans  <https://www.dig-in.com/conference/digitalinsurance-2018/speakers/ryan-evans> of Hartford InsurTech Hub.
  • Marketing Car Insurance to Gen Z,” featuring Crispin Moger  <https://www.dig-in.com/conference/digitalinsurance-2018/speakers/crispin-moger> of Marmalade.

At 3:10 p.m., take a break to absorb the afternoon’s information, or enjoy a networking event in the foyer, sponsored by Arity.

At 3:30 p.m., breakout sessions resume with options like:

  • Top 3 Most Important Trends Driving Digital Transformation,” featuring Joy Rohde  <https://www.dig-in.com/conference/digitalinsurance-2018/speakers/joy-rohde> of Ingo Money and Jay Sarzen  <https://www.dig-in.com/conference/digitalinsurance-2018/speakers/jay-sarzen> of Aite Group.
  • Create & Launch New Direct to Consumer Products: Capture the Mid-Markets and Millennial Consumers,” featuring Vinod Kachroo  <https://www.dig-in.com/conference/digitalinsurance-2018/speakers/vinod-kachroo> of SE2, Manish Bhatt  <https://www.dig-in.com/conference/digitalinsurance-2018/speakers/manish-bhatt> of Hawthorne Advisors and Rahim Rajpar  <https://www.dig-in.com/conference/digitalinsurance-2018/speakers/rahim-rajpar> of John Hancock Financial Services.

Take a brief break at 4:00, then dive into the 4:05 p.m. round of breakout sessions for Day 2, which include:

  • How AI Could Enhance the Insurance Consumer Journey,” featuring moderator Joseph Orr  <https://www.dig-in.com/conference/digitalinsurance-2018/speakers/joseph-orr> of Clearlink and panelists Matt Coughlin  <https://www.dig-in.com/conference/digitalinsurance-2018/speakers/matt-coughlin> of XSELL Technologies, Ted Devine  <https://www.dig-in.com/conference/digitalinsurance-2018/speakers/ted-devine> of Insureon and David Pearson  <https://www.dig-in.com/conference/digitalinsurance-2018/speakers/david-pearson> of SYKES Enterprises.
  • Next Generation Data: Claims Activity Through the Looking Glass,” featuring Max Drucker  <https://www.dig-in.com/conference/digitalinsurance-2018/speakers/max-drucker> of Carpe Data and George Naftzinger  <https://www.dig-in.com/conference/digitalinsurance-2018/speakers/george-naftzinger> of Allstate.

The final round of breakout sessions on Day 2 starts at 4:40 p.m. It includes a to-be-announced session in the AI & Machine Learning track, as well as these already-announced sessions:

  • IoT Making Our Roads Safer,” featuring David Braunstein  <https://www.dig-in.com/conference/digitalinsurance-2018/speakers/david-braunstein> of Together for Safer Roads, Thomas Hallauer  <https://www.dig-in.com/conference/digitalinsurance-2018/speakers/thomas-hallauer> of PTOLEMUS Consulting Group and Nino Tarantino  <https://www.dig-in.com/conference/digitalinsurance-2018/speakers/nino-tarantino> of Octo Telematics North America.
  • Are Carriers or Insurtechs the Key to Innovation?”, featuring Chris Cheatham  <https://www.dig-in.com/conference/digitalinsurance-2018/speakers/chris-cheatham> of RiskGenius, Brian Gaab  <https://www.dig-in.com/conference/digitalinsurance-2018/speakers/brian-gaab> of CSAA Insurance Group and Ted Stuckey  <https://www.dig-in.com/conference/digitalinsurance-2018/speakers/ted-stuckey> of QBE Insurance Group.

Finish off the day with a networking reception in the Innovation Hall from 5:10 to 6:30 p.m. Or network, take a break, and enjoy the VIP party and barbecue from 7:00 to 10:00 p.m. for a rousing finish to Day 2.

dinner

 

Day 3: The Perfect Finish

Day 3 will start early at 7:15 a.m., when registration opens. There will be coffee in the foyer until 8:30, along with a breakfast briefing titled “Customer Communications are Critical to Claims Digital Transformation,” sponsored by Quadient.

At 8:25 a.m., join conference chairperson Nathan Golia of Digital Insurance for a brief recap, followed by the Day 3 keynote, “Beyond Mobile: What’s Next in Digital Insurance?” Day 3’s keynote speaker is Patrick Kelly  <https://www.dig-in.com/conference/digitalinsurance-2018/speakers/patrick-kelly>, AVP of Emerging Technologies at USAA.

The final networking breakfast from 9:00 to 9:45 a.m. in the Innovation Hall will be laid-back, and the speakers who follow promise to put the finishing touches on an information-packed conference. They include:

  • John Geyer  <https://www.dig-in.com/conference/digitalinsurance-2018/speakers/john-geyer> of Metlife, on “Surviving the Innovation Danger Zone”
  • Dan Manges  <https://www.dig-in.com/conference/digitalinsurance-2018/speakers/dan-manges> of Root, on “Insurers on the Cybersecurity Frontline”

Two panels round out DIgIn 2018. The first, chaired by Celent Senior Analyst Mike Fitzgerald  <https://www.dig-in.com/conference/digitalinsurance-2018/speakers/mike-fitzgerald>, will focus on “Insurance Visionaries: Looking Ahead.” Panelists will include Sean Harper  <https://www.dig-in.com/conference/digitalinsurance-2018/speakers/sean-harper> of Kin Insurance, Alex Maffeo  <https://www.dig-in.com/conference/digitalinsurance-2018/speakers/alex-maffeo> of Boost Insurance, Keith Meinick  <https://www.dig-in.com/conference/digitalinsurance-2018/speakers/keith-melnick> of The Zebra and Michael Rudoy  <https://www.dig-in.com/conference/digitalinsurance-2018/speakers/michael-rudoy> of Jetty.

The final panel will ask, “Insurtechs - What’s Next?” This panel will give VCs a chance to share their thoughts. Moderator Erik Ross  <https://www.dig-in.com/conference/digitalinsurance-2018/speakers/erik-ross> of Nationwide will lead panelists Andrew Pitz  <https://www.dig-in.com/conference/digitalinsurance-2018/speakers/andrew-pitz> of Transamerica Ventures, Russ MacTough  <https://www.dig-in.com/conference/digitalinsurance-2018/speakers/russ-mactough> of Liberty Mutual Strategic Ventures and Craig Schedler  <https://www.dig-in.com/conference/digitalinsurance-2018/speakers/craig-schedler> of Northwestern Mutual Future Ventures in an insightful discussion.

Will we be seeing you in Austin? Keep in touch on social media with #DigIn2018!

images by: rawpixel/©123RF Stock Photo, maxoidos/©123RF Stock Photo, rawpixel/©123RF Stock Photo

Subscribe to Email Updates

Popular Topics